The Importance of Reading and Books to my Legacy

Image

 “Books are a delightful society. If you go into a room and find it full of books, even without taking them from the shelves they seem to speak to you, to bid you welcome.”

This quote attributed to William E. Gladstone, speaks to the friendship found in books and reading.

Books encourage our minds to travel to far off locations and the stories heighten our sense of adventure and develop our imaginations. Children who are read to regularly become good readers. Children and youth  who read regularly become good writers. If a child is a strong reader there is no subject that cannot be mastered and no skill that cannot be self-taught. Reading is personal power.

Books can also be a lot of fun, as they allow us to interact with figments of other people’s imaginations as we read. Books can be a wealth of important and thought-provoking information. Books can create controversy and meaningful dialogue.

I taught each of my six children to read and to love books, just as my own mother taught me.   Each of my children are very accomplished in their academic pursuits. As adults they each continue to enjoy reading and hopefully will teach their own children to love reading as well.

Books encourage the reader to explore the unlimited creativity and endless artistic possibilities that lie within each of us. Books can be a mode of transportation from one geographical location to the next. Books can trigger the next best seller within a writer.

Books vary in subject matter and length. Not much time? Read a short book. A long riding journey or quiet afternoon? Read a book of many pages. Reading can be a good source of relaxation. Reading and books are very important and it is always a good time to read.

I strongly believe that the most valuable legacy that I can leave for my children, my grandchildren, and my future posterity, is to be remembered as a woman who loved  to read, who respected books, and who loved each of them enough to teach them by example to read and to love books. By purchasing books as gifts for holidays and birthdays for my family and friends, both adults and children, I’d hoped to instill a sense of adventure, a respect for the arts and a thirst for higher knowledge. I wanted to show the value I placed on the ability to read and the enjoyment of reading as entertainment and pleasure.  I hope they got my intended message.

1 Comment

Filed under Random Rantings...

One response to “The Importance of Reading and Books to my Legacy

  1. Absolutely! And my concern is our allowing technology to elbow out the thump and solidity and ink and paper of books in our kids’ dizzy lives:

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/2013/05/02/technology-the-dark-side-of-efficiency-part-4/

    https://aholisticjourney.wordpress.com/page/2/

Leave a Reply

