This Economy & the Price of Eggs

“Now if there’s a smile on my face–It’s only there tryin’ to fool the public; but when it comes down to fooling you–Now honey, that’s quite a different subject.  Don’t let my glad expression, give you the wrong impression–really I’m sad. Oh, sadder than sad. You’re gone and I’m hurtin so bad. Like a clown I pretend to be glad. Now there’s some sad things known to man.  They ain’t too much sadder than the tears of a clown–when there’s no one around.”

Now, if I appear to be carefree, it’s only to camouflage my sadness; in order to sheild my pride I try to cover this hurt with a show of gladness.  But don’t let my glad expression give you the wrong impression. Really, I’m sad. Oh sadder than sad. I’m sad and I want you to know. That for others I put on a show. Now there’s some sad things known to man–they ain’t too much sadder than the tears of a clown, when there’s no one around

–Smokey Bill Robinson

Have you seen the price of eggs?  It makes me wanna holla throw up both my hands! 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under MONEY--It's A Gas!

Leave a Reply

